I think there is more to this call (slapping the backboard "T") then just knowing the rule. If the ball goes in, and some guy slaps the backboard, why give him a "T". The bucket went in, so no coach (except some guy who lives by the rule book) would ever complain about this. It seems to me that unless you need to assess that "T" to remain in control of the game, you can let it go.
Now if the ball doesn't go in, and in your judgement, the player was not attempting to block the shot, then it should be called.
The one thing that worries me about this rule is the amount of judgement involved. If you were to call a "T" on team A for slapping the backboard, and a quarter later, Team B slaps, ball falls out, and you judge that it was in the attempt to block a shot that the backboard was hit - be prepared to take hell from the coach of Team A...
|