View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2006, 08:24am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by roadking
can a player inbounding the ball jump over the boundry line (without touching) before releasing the ball?
After a made or awarded basket - legal.

During a spot throw-in - illegal.

The thrower must remain on or over the throw-in spot or it's a violation. If he jumped across the boundary line, then he's no longer over the 3' spot that's OOB.
Say what?

Casebook play 7.6.2 sez that "it is permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide designated area without violating...". Casebook play 4.42.6 also mentions the designated spot as only requiring the thrower to keep any portion of his body on or over the 3-foot width of the designated spot.

There's no rule that I know of that says that the designated spot is limited to the boundary line at the front, as well as a set distance to the back, except that they can't climb the bleachers. There's nothing in rule 9-2 that's being violated that I'm aware of either. If I'm missing something, can you please point me to the rule that I'm missing?
JR, the player can move forward or backwards over the designated-spot. But the designated-spot is OOB, not inbounds. Therefore, it does not extend across the boundary line. And yes, I have seen this in an interp on the NF site.
Yabut, it's still legal for the thrower to break the plane of the boundary line or move backwards to the stands. The only restriction to the thrower that I can see anywhere in the book concerns width, not depth.

I don't remember that particular interpretation being issued, TH. Usually the ones the NFHS posts on their site end up the next year in the case book.

MTD, you got anything in the attic on this one? It's a play you probably ain't ever gonna see- it's almost physically impossible- but I would like to know the definitive ruling.
Reply With Quote