View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 06, 2006, 12:20am
zebracz zebracz is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 93
Send a message via Yahoo to zebracz
Post CaliOne..

yo. my first question: did you make the sitch worse? could it have easily been arguable either way? Coach A may have been just fine w/ your P's Tech? (just sumthin to think about.) However, I'd have to see this one, to really know but, here's what you say:

Originally posted by CaliOne
"...A1 breaks away from 1/2 court, with 3 defensive players close behind, all running full speed. A1 goes up for a dunk, get above rim when the ball slips out of him hands and bounces above backboard."

question2: did the ball go out of bounds? (oob) Or, did the ball go up and up, til A1 waited for it to come down, so he hung on the rim, to try to re-secure control of the ball so he could dunk? I mean, was it a fumble or a turn over? IMO, if (as above) he was hanging on it and trying to stay up to re-gain control, you (or your P) would've needed quick judgment; A1 MAY STILL HAVE NEED to hang on the rim to protect himself as you stated:
"3 defensive players close behind, [were] all running full speed."

question3: where were you (as was asked above?) Can you tell from where you are that as he:
"grabs the rim and hangs there for 2 seconds swinging back and forth a couple times,"

(can you tell) that this swinging is excessive? Could your P tell that this was excessive?

W/ such a Partner, you may have needed to better cover Techs in your pregame. This may have all been a clean-mess rather than an ugly-mixed-up mess, if your P had come to you (or you'd have come together as soon as he signals his T.)

Then you say he: "at lead blows whistle with his fist up. I thought he had a foul. He then immediately signals a T. He's on his way to report and I head him off and ask him what he had."

IMO be very cautious in these sitch's. You can do very well to help a young ref out. Tell him, "NICE CALL," first, before you say or do anything else. then say, "hey let's talk about this one for a min before you report." Then take care of all the players--send them to their benches so that that occupies the coach's time--who can coach. then ask him what he saw. see if he wants to know what you saw. ask him for the ruling. f@$k everyone else--you can take your time, to get it right, right? if he doesn't know the rule, tell him what it is, etc, etc. Don't bother w/ discussing 'trail/lead' ideals until after, in your postgame. AND, then, in your postgame, be sure to say something like, "hey, we sure learned a lot on this one, tonight, eh?" and then discuss it, further, so that when he (and you) have this same sitch again, you know what you'll do. Good job, though, CaliOne.

question4: You said you: "went to the table and told coaches."
In this type of major overruling (or call-change,) you've got to bring both coaches together AT THE SAME TIME, IN FRONT OF THE TABLE, to admin it to them BOTH together. Odds are CoachB isn't going to react like an a$$hole AND you don't hafta ding him. Yes, he still won't be happy, but you are at least doing your best effort and using your best game-management skills to diffuse any ugly sitch. Then, you all are off to 'play ball!' right?

My concern though was this: (you said) "B coach didn't hear right away that I wasn't going to let my partner call a T,"
Admin it the above way and there should be noway CoachB doesn't know what's going on. Plus you look and seem fair when you tell them both together. you can say something like this, "Guys (or Coaches,) you aren't going to like what I say," and make sure your P is w/ you--saying nothing though--"but," as you continue, "this is what we've got." And then calmly and professionally lay it out for them, looking each of them in the eyes, k?

Then you say you went w/ "the possession arrow for inadvertant whistle, he threw his clipboard down, yelling and threw himself back in his chair, with his hands up, stomping...[yada yada yada]."

question5: you went possession arrow? Was the ball dead? Why not go, POI? It was oob off of A1, right? Team B's ball! Then there are no extra free throws, no Techs, AND no pissed TeamB fans! (Sounds a little easier, right?)

You said: "I administered the freethrows while my partner explained it to the coach. After the freethrows I went to the coach and he didn't want to hear my explanation;"

IMO, why would YOU go to the coach, if your P already was explaining to him, in the first place? Stay away from there. Seeing your face again, only incites him, reminds him, and causes further confrontation. IMO, never go back to a coach and bring up any past ruling, judgment, or call, etc. It invites the above-mentioned, confrontations, incitations, reminders, etc. Plus, what more could you possibly do or say to make it right? We as officials can't make it better, esp all better. It's best to just forget and go on--going back doesn't allow the coach to forget and go on. Instead, let him start thinking (and keep thinking) about the rest of the game. He should be w/ his team coaching, right? If he wants you to say more about it (later on?), let him ask you (later on.) If he wants to bring it up, fine. And there ya go, have at it--say what you need--or not need. Make sense?

Well, done though. My ideas may only be another way to help manage that sitch. Good job, well done, and keep it up.
__________________
"Have you ever heard of the 5-pt play--a multiple foul on a 3-pt try that goes?" LoL
Reply With Quote