The ANSWER FROM IAABO .....
The below answer is the answer I received from IAABO when I emailed them.....
Answer #4 on your e-mail is correct. It is a throw-in violation except the ball is not at B-1'disposal until the official actually starts counting. But with this play situation it is not relevant. Because B-1 did not step out of bounds as the rule states, is precisely why it is a throw-in violation. This is a throw-in violation not a technical foul initially. It is the responsibility of the team that has been scored upon to make a bona fide attempt to get the ball and go directly and immediately out of bounds without undue delay and release the ball within 5 seconds on a pass directly into the court so it touches or touched by a player inbounds or out of bounds. This is basic and fundamental to the throw-in rule. When B-1 failed
to take the ball out of bounds, B-1 violated this basic and fundamental rule. Rule 7 Section 6 Art 1; Rule 9 Section 2 Art 2 cover the rule interpretation. It would be considered good officiating technique for the official after this occurred to issue a warning that if the team persist in such tactics a technical foul would be assessed.
Hope this clears up the situation for you.
|