View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 03, 2006, 02:50am
KWH KWH is offline
Small Business Owner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Portland Oregon USA
Posts: 520
The word "NOTE" should be removed from both answer 3 and answer 4 on page 80 of Referee Mag 2/06.
Simple reason -This is clearly a typo as not such "NOTE" exists in the rule book.

As for the penalty enforcement, Referee does have both plays correct and does list the proper enforcment.
When a foul occurs on the last play of a period AND the penalty is accepted, the period IS extended by an untimed down.
But remember, when the offended team scores a touchdown (as in the sample play) on the last timed down of a period, the untimed down IS the TRY (as per Rule 8-3-1, also known as the succeeding spot. See Rule 2-40-10)
Restated - Under current NFHS rules, there is NEVER a situation where the offended team has the option of having the penalty enforced on the kickoff for a foul which occurred during a touchdown.

The correct answer for Quiz question 3 is A
The correct answer for Quiz question 4 is B
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber
Reply With Quote