View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 10:13pm
The Roamin' Umpire The Roamin' Umpire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Question

I know it's no big surprise if it's true, but I'd like to confirm my opinion. The situation is #4 from Test Yourself, on page 72 of the Feb. 2006 issue - I'm interested in the NFHS ruling:

Team A scores as time expires on the final play of regulation time, making the score 26-24 in favor of Team B. On the play, B1 grabbed and twisted A's facemask. (Assume the penalty is accepted and enforced on the try.) The ensuing try results in two points for Team A, tying the game. What happens next?
(a) The fourth quarter is extended for a kickoff.
(b) The game moves to overtime.

The answer given by Referee is (b), and the reference provided is 3-3-3 NOTE. I don't see a note on 3-3-3, and as nearly as I can tell, 3-3-3a should apply - there was a foul during the last timed down, and the penalty was accepted. The period should be extended by one untimed down - in this case, a kickoff. (Which, hopefully, team A will simply tap off of the tee and fall on.) Opinions?
Reply With Quote