View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 02, 2006, 09:06pm
Time2Ref Time2Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 163
That is because they can't.
You got it right, Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. in your first post when you sited NFHS rule 9.2.11.

You stated correctly:
"Team A's original AP throw-in never ended so it does not lose the AP Arrow."
You didn't reference the rule covering that. That rule is:

6.4.4...The direction of the possesion arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating possesion throw-in ends or when the throw-in team violates.

(And as I learned in the other post):
4.42.5...The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower.

Therefore, as you stated, the AP throw-in never ended. (ball was never passed. And never touched an inbounds player) Instead the violation occured.(not by the throw-in team)

And as Kajun Ref N Texas correctly stated
"So.... it is a violation.... and the ball is given back to the same team at the same place.....but because of the violation... by definition this is not an AP throw-in anymore."

(And that violation is addressed at the bottom of 9.2.):

Penalty: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation or technical foul occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponets for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot.

Team B violated. The penalty for the violation was that Team A was AWARDED a throw-in, not an AP throw-in.
(Yes, they the do receive the warning as stated in 9.2.11, Penalties: (Art.11) 1. The first violation....)

No change of AP arrow.

[Edited by Time2Ref on Feb 3rd, 2006 at 07:17 AM]
Reply With Quote