View Single Post
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 30, 2006, 10:28pm
James Neil James Neil is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 465
Quote:
Originally posted by The Roamin' Umpire
Quote:
Originally posted by James Neil
Good stuff RU. I agree with all rulings. In Oregon for the past two years we'd let the play go in # 5 and have A replay the try from the B-1.5. Not sure if we'll go this way again this year. One question I have for #6. Since we're replaying the down won’t we go back to the previous clock status even thou the play ended up as an incomplete pass?
I'd like it if they kept the ball live on tries, but oh well.

To my knowledge, there is only one situation where the clock status after play #1 will affect the clock status after play #2: if the clock expired during play #1 and something happens causing play #2 to be an untimed down, then play #3 (the "replay") will be an untimed down because play #2 was an untimed down.

The case where play #2 is a free kick is similar, but even if play #3 (the "replay") is also free kick, its clock status is the way it is solely because it's a free kick, and not particularly because of the clock status before play #2.

Re-reading this, it looks confusing as all get out. The short answer is: no, the clock status before the last down doesn't affect the clock status before the next one. Only the action during the last down matters. [/B]
LOL yah RU it does seem a little confusing but I do get the picture now. Well I think I do LOL But let me ask this. Lets say team A has called a time-out and then runs a play that ends in the field of play but they must replay because of an accepted penalty. When are we going to start the clock?
Reply With Quote