View Single Post
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 03:54am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
The following two interps are about the best info that we have from the NFHS. In one play Team A loses the right to run after being intentionally fouled. Team A didn't even do anything wrong on the play and they lose the running privilege! This ruling accompanied a rule change with added the word "common" before foul in 7-5-7. I thought it was a poor rules change then and feel even more so now.

In the other play, there is a double foul just prior to an endline running throw-in being due and when the game is resumed at the POI, the team is permitted to run the end line.

So the logic escapes me. If there is a Double Foul before the throw-in then the team may run, but if they are offended by a noncommon foul during the throw-in then they lose that right. This is flat out illogical.


Play 1:
2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 6: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)


Play 2:
2005-06 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 8: A1 has control of the ball in Team A’s frontcourt. Post players A5 and B5 are pushing each other in an attempt to gain a more advantageous position on the block while (a) A1 is dribbling the ball; (b) the ball is in the air on a pass from A1 to A2; or (c) the ball is in the air on an unsuccessful try for goal by A1. An official calls a double personal foul on A5 and B5. RULING: In (a) and (b), Team A had control of the ball when the double foul occurred, and thus play will be resumed at the point of interruption. Team A will have a designated spot throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. In (c), no team has control while a try for goal is in flight, and since the try was unsuccessful, there is no obvious point of interruption. Play will be resumed with an alternating possession throw-in nearest the location where the ball was located when the double foul occurred. Had the try been successful, the point of interruption would have been a throw-in for Team B from anywhere along the end line. (4-36; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9)
Reply With Quote