View Single Post
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2006, 03:50am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Texas Aggie

B applies and the way I look at it, he can run. POI means just that: the point at which play was interrupted. He could run before, so he can run now.

To say he loses the right to run because his teammate committed a foul isn't accurate. If you read the comments on the revisions, it says, "the committee felt that no team should benefit from a double foul." Having a spot through in would benefit team B and there isn't any rules support for the idea that A must lose their right to run just because they committed a foul. At least not considering both the definition and intent of POI.
While I agree with your logic that no team should benefit from a double foul, I disagree completely with your opinion that B is definitive. The rule does not mention what type of throw-in that play is resumed on. That's exactly what we've been arguing about for 3 pages.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jan 25th, 2006 at 04:08 AM]
Reply With Quote