Thread: Lil Tester
View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2006, 08:24am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:
Originally posted by MichiganOfficial
Testing all officials!!!

A1 inbounding the ball in the front court, B1 in front of A1 but not breaking the plain. A1 frustrated that he/she can't get the ball by the outstreched arms of B1, A1 reaches out and with one hand moves the arm of B1 and throws the ball in to A2. What do we have boys?
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by JugglingReferee
If it is an intentional personal foul for B1 to reach through the plane and contact the thrower-in, the same penalty should exist for the reverse case.
But this situation is more analogous to the thrower extending the ball through the plane and being fouled on his arm on the inbounds side of the plane by a defender.

The ruling on that play is a common foul because the contact occurs on the inbounds side of the boundary plane.

The contact on the play under discussion in this thread also occurs on the inbounds side of the boundary plane.
I believe that another aspect of the play is more important than the spacial location of the foul. I think it's necessary to rule on A1's intent. Clearly A1's actions are intentional by trying to thwart an opponent's obvious advantageous position: playing good inbound defense.
JugRef,
First, please note that I did not make the original post and would appreciate it if you would edit your post to reflect that fact as I have done in this one. (I know which spelling of plane to use. )
Second, I am of the opinion that the argument presented in your final paragraph has merit. However, what I posted before was intended to refute the logic used in your first post, which is quite flawed. You may well reach the correct conclusion (I happen to not think so, but can't say for sure.), but the path taken to get there isn't a good one.
Third, I think that unless you are going to call an IPF on a play at midcourt when a player with the ball, who gets trapped and is looking to pass, purposely pushes the arm of a defender away in order to make an opening through which to throw the ball, then you shouldn't call the foul on this throw-in play an intentional either.

JMO


Reply With Quote