View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2006, 12:38pm
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Originally posted by JugglingReferee

This is a situation that I wish the Fed had an approved ruling on. I do not believe that you should penalize the kids that "listened to the ref". They were told that after the first shot, the ball will be dead.
There is a case on this (8.6.1 in last year's book) -- if only one player reacts, the ball is dead. If several players react, then no error occurred. The definition of "several" is judgment.

I see. Since an extra shot wasn't awarded this actually isn't a correctable error, which is what I was thinking. Also, reading the OP I see that the put-back happened immediately, so the case play is quite directly applicable. Just another little detail to keep in mind.
Reply With Quote