View Single Post
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 05:29pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
If you throw goaltending or BI into this situation, I think the shoe is ignored and the violation called.

Can't call GT if a thrown shoe hits a shot on the way up, can you?
In the NBA, you can. But only in the NBA.

Quote:
Player A1 is about to attempt a field goal when Player B1, who has lost a shoe, throws the shoe in the direction of the ball. What is the ruling if:

(a) the ball has been released?

Ruling: (a) Player A1 shall be awarded points consistent with the play and a technical foul shall be called on Player B1. After the free throw attempt, the ball shall be awarded to Team B as after any score.

RULE 2- Section III
RULE 12A - Section V-a
No mention of on the way up or down. As long as it's released, it's BI. That's from the '02 case book, which is unfortunately the most recent book I have.
If Ron Artest threw a fan and it hit the ball, would it be the same call under NBA rules?
Reply With Quote