View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 05:24pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
If you throw goaltending or BI into this situation, I think the shoe is ignored and the violation called.

Can't call GT if a thrown shoe hits a shot on the way up, can you?
In the NBA, you can. But only in the NBA.

Quote:
Player A1 is about to attempt a field goal when Player B1, who has lost a shoe, throws the shoe in the direction of the ball. What is the ruling if:

(a) the ball has been released?

Ruling: (a) Player A1 shall be awarded points consistent with the play and a technical foul shall be called on Player B1. After the free throw attempt, the ball shall be awarded to Team B as after any score.

RULE 2- Section III
RULE 12A - Section V-a
No mention of on the way up or down. As long as it's released, it's BI. That's from the '02 case book, which is unfortunately the most recent book I have.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote