View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 04:10pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: As a follow-up, here's a case play right from the NFHS website. I hope this helps resolve the question definitively:

*2.17.2 SITUATION D, Page 14: Linebacker B7 is in the free-blocking zone, but off the line of scrimmage. B7 blocks A8 below the waist. RULING: Illegal block. In order for a block below the waist to be legal, both the blocker and the person being blocked must be on the line of scrimmage at the snap and in the free-blocking zone.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote