View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 03:21pm
Bob M. Bob M. is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
Quote:
Originally posted by RefNVa
...and that not only are OL/DL allowed to BBW but also any others that are within the FBZ @ the snap and before the ball leaves. :"D
REPLY: RefNVa...that's just not correct. Take a look at these plays. Here's why I said that the 'box' is probably of secondary importance to the positions of the opponents:

1. Wing back is positioned directly behind the tackle (he's in the box) and charges out to block the DE below the waist. RULING: Illegal block below the waist. A back can never block legally below the waist in or out of the FBZ.

2. LB coming on a blitz after the snap from three yards in his own defensive backfield. Offensive guard (in the box) sees this and cuts him with a block below the waist at A's line of scrimmage. RULING: Illegal block below the waist. Since the LB was not on the line of scrimmage at the snap, this block is illegal -- even though it took place in the FBZ, and even though the blocker was on the line at the snap.

3. On an end-around, while the ball is still in the FBZ, wing back blocks a pursuing lineman (also in the box) below the waist. RULING: Illegal block below the waist. Just like #1, a back can never block legally below the waist in or out of the FBZ.

[Edited by Bob M. on Jan 20th, 2006 at 04:02 PM]
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote