View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 13, 2006, 08:07am
Kaliix Kaliix is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 555
If there is a swinging strike three and you the umpire determine that the ball was not caught, you should simply signal a strike.

The problem starts with umpires who signal outs and strikes the same way. IMHO, they should be two different signals. I point to the side for a strike, and hammer an out (unless it's the 3rd strike looking, that is a whole different animal). If you signal both the same way, then you are responsible for any confusion resulting from your poor choice of signal.

If you simply signal strike on a 3KNC, you are not putting anyone at a disadvantage, you are simply making the correct call, which is a 3rd strike but not an out. While the catcher can't see you, the pitcher (and everyone else) can. The pitcher can signal to the catcher to tag the BR or throw to a base by a simple point.

The biggest problem is signalling outs and strike the same way. That is a prescription for confusion.
__________________
Well I am certainly wiser than this man. It is only too likely that neither of us has any knowledge to boast of; but he thinks that he knows something which he does not know, whereas I am quite conscious of my ignorance. At any rate it seems that I am wiser than he is to this small extent, that I do not think that I know what I do not know. ~Socrates
Reply With Quote