View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 03, 2006, 10:29pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Good call, no safety

Not a safety in my mind.

In possession of the ball, the player clearly was in the field of play, where he was contacted. The force by the defense caused the player to go backwards. I did not see any contact that was released. In this case, I think the forward progress was in the field of play. Good call by the side guy.

Had contact been released, can one make a judgment call in US rules that a backwards step by the carrier was caused by a loss of balance due to the defensive contact? If so, it is still not a safety.
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote