View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 02, 2006, 06:32pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Re: Re: Re: Re: BktBallRef

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
I just don't believe that the NFHS ever intended what we call the three points rule to apply during an interrupted dribble. I think that it was meant to apply to situations in which there is player control, and player control doesn't exist during an interrupted dribble. Right now, I'm on the side of calling backcourt violations in parts 1 and 3, but I'm far from sure that I'm right.
As you many times do NV, you're posting what you think without any backing from the Fed. There's no indication that the Fed wants us to rule any differently when there's an interrupted dribble.
BktBallRef, you're doing exactly the same thing. There is just as much indication that that the interrupted dribble is different as it is the same.

The mere fact that they call it an "interrupted" dribble suggests that A1 is not the same.

We have the ruling that says A1 does not have player control during an interrupted dribble. Dribbling also implies player control which, in reverse, says that if a player does not have control, they can't be dribbling. If they are not dribbling, they don't get the benefit if the 3-points rule.
Not true.

NVRef is basing his interp on what he thinks the Fed meant for us to do (something that he's done before, even when faced with rule references).
As am I.

I (and Nevada) basing my interpretation on the rules that we have. He just happened to add a "belief" to the discussion to add understanding, not a ruling.

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef

He's cited no rule to support his stand, while I have supplied cites that say an inteterrupted dribble does not cause the dribble to end and that a player who is dribbling doesn't attain FC status until all three points are in the FC.

There's no "suggests" to it. The rules are clear. What you guys are proposing is contrary to both those rules.
Hardly. We're both using rules too...not a quote (so far) but a paraphrase...just ones that you choose to ignore because they don't support your argument. Now for quotes (empahsis mine)...

From 04-05:

Rule 15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats....

Rule 4-15-5: There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.

Rule 4-12-1: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds. There is no player control...during an interrupted dribble.

So, right there, we have rules that say if a player is dribbling, they have player control and that there is no player control on an interupted dribbler. Putting them together we get that a player is not dribbling during an interrupted dribble. If they were, they'd have player control. Thus, the 3-points exception is also interrupted with the interruption.

__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote