View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 25, 2001, 10:06pm
Mark Padgett Mark Padgett is offline
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef

However, if the trail placed the ball on the floor and B1 grabbed it and inbounded it, then this situation is correctable.
Try this - since the ball on the floor is at the disposal of team A, when B1 comes across the line to pick up the ball, call the delay warning for a boundary violation. In fact, you could make a case for the technical, since the throw in has started and B1 touched the ball while it was OOB. The rule does not specifically state that the ball must be in the inbounder's hands, only that an opponent of the thrower (who I would assume could be considered any eligible player on team A who could come and get the ball, not necessarily mean a player on A who actually is going to throw the ball in and has it in his hands), reaches across and dislodges (then it would have to be in someone's hands, I guess) or touches (then it wouldn't, I guess) the ball.

OK - I'm really stretching the letter of the rule and I don't think I would ever call it that way, but I did call a delay warning for a boundary violation today when A1 had the ball to inbound on the endline and B1 backed up OOB next to him because he thought it was their ball. I only did it because B1 just stood there and didn't realize he wasn't supposed to be there.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote