View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 01, 2006, 09:07pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Therefore, could you clarify a few things for me?
1. Is an interrupted dribble considered part of a player's dribble even though there is no player control?
2. When the ball bounces in the frontcourt during the interrupted dribble does it obtain frontcourt status?
3. Why specifically do you rule differently for part 3? When does the ball obtain frontcourt status during this play?
1. Yes. It's an interrupted dribble, not an ended dribble.
2. Not as far as the dribbler is concerned. If A2 grabs the ball instead of continuing the dribble, you have a violation. But he doesn't. He continues dribbling. The rule says there's no FC status until all three points are across on the dribble.
3. Because A3 is NOT the dribbler. When A3 touches the ball, it has FC status and he's in the BC, so it's a violation. The rule doesn't allow A3 to start a dribble. It only allows A2 to continue the original dribble.
I originally was thinking this would be a violation but you sure have me thinking...

What if A2 never again touched the ball? What happens to the 10 count? If another player touches the ball, it wasn't a dribble after all and was in the frontcourt all along.

Regarding your statement about A2 grabbing the ball vs continuing the dribbler. Why would it matter. The dribble still hasn't ended until he grabs it....it seems as if both would have the same conclusion.
Good questions. Perhaps we need a part 4.

To be consistent, I think that TH has to change his answer about A2 grabbing the ball.

The 10-second question is really instructive. I don't believe that whether the count continues or ceases can depend upon which player is the next to contact the ball. That's absurd. As Camron asked what if no player comes and touches the ball? Do we have a count or not? Either the ball has frontcourt status or it doesn't. I'm now also of the opinion that TH should reconsider his ruling for A3 coming over and being the first to touch.

For me, I'm still mulling over how action that takes place while a dribble is INTERRUPTED could be deemed to take place DURING the dribble. I'm really struggling with that. Is it all one big dribble or not?

I just don't believe that the NFHS ever intended what we call the three points rule to apply during an interrupted dribble. I think that it was meant to apply to situations in which there is player control, and player control doesn't exist during an interrupted dribble. Right now, I'm on the side of calling backcourt violations in parts 1 and 3, but I'm far from sure that I'm right.
Reply With Quote