Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Rule 9-1, Article 2
g . Players occupying any of the legal marked lane spaces on each side of the lane may break the vertical plane of a lane-space boundary once the free-thrower has released the ball. (See Rule 8-1.)
h . Players occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of space (2 x 36 inches) designated by a lane space mark or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the lane until the ball is released by the free-thrower.
|
What's confusing? If the FOOT crosses the plane, it's a violation. So, in your first example (arm into the lane), it's not a violation. In the second example, it's a violation, even thought the foot doesn't touch the floor.
|
What's confusing (to me, anyway) is that in part (g) it says that *players* may break the vertical plane once the free-thrower has released the ball. To me, this means any part of the player---including the arm.
Part (h) talks only about *either foot*, which is different from the whole player.
Now I call it the way you've described it exactly. But I'm just trying to understand better the actual rule.