Speaking of lines...
Changing the subject slightly, here's something that I've never gotten quite clear. During a free throw, one of the players in a lane space puts an arm into the lane. Is that a violation? What if he/she lifts a foot and starts to step into the lane before the release, crosses the plane, but doesn't actually touch the lane until after the release? Here's the relevant rules (NCAA). Part (h) is new this year, and just confuses me more. Can someone interpret these for me?
Thanks!
Rule 9-1, Article 2
g . Players occupying any of the legal marked lane spaces on each side of the lane may break the vertical plane of a lane-space boundary once the free-thrower has released the ball. (See Rule 8-1.)
h . Players occupying a marked lane space may not have either foot beyond the vertical plane of the outside edge of any lane boundary or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of space (2 x 36 inches) designated by a lane space mark or beyond the vertical plane of any edge of the lane until the ball is released by the free-thrower.
|