Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
is it a foul for the defender to wait until the offensive player has extended his arms into the vertical space above the defender and then shoot his arms up into that space thereby making contact with the offensive player?
The way I read the rule below, my answer is yes.
RULE 4
SECTION 45 VERTICALITY
Verticality applies to a legal position. The basic components of the principle of verticality are:
ART. 1 . . . Legal guarding position must be obtained initially and movement thereafter must be legal.
ART. 2 . . . From this position, the defender may rise or jump vertically and occupy the space within his/her vertical plane.
ART. 3 . . . The hands and arms of the defender may be raised within his/her vertical plane while on the floor or in the air.
ART. 4 . . . The defender should not be penalized for leaving the floor vertically or having his/her hands and arms extended within his/her vertical plane
ART. 5 . . . The offensive player whether on the floor or airborne, may not clear out or cause contact within the defender's vertical plane which is a foul.
ART. 6 . . . . The defender may not belly up or use the lower part of the body or arms to cause contact outside his/her vertical plane which is a foul.
ART. 7 . . . The player with the ball is to be given no more protection or consideration than the defender in judging which player has violated the rules.
|
Nevada, I don't see what the defender did wrong. #3 says he can raise his hands within his vetical plane and #7 says not to give the player with the ball more protection than the defender. What am I missing?