View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 28, 2005, 12:56am
rainmaker rainmaker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Hmm... Interesting. Can a "tap-per" get fouled? If it's during the tap, is it the act of shooting, even though she's tapping not shooting?
Yes a tapper may be fouled and it is considered in the act of shooting.

5.2.5 SITUATION B: With three-tenths of a second or less left in the first half, Team B has been charged with only four team fouls. A1 is at the free throw line for one free throw. A1's shot hits the rim and bounds off. A2 legally taps the ball toward the basket and is fouled by B3. The ball had left A2's hand and the foul occurred before the period-ending horn sounded. The tap is unsuccessful. RULING: B3's foul is considered in the "act of tapping" and will result in two free throws for A2. The lane will be cleared and the period ends after A2's free throw attempts. (4-41-1,5,6,7)
Taking a trick out of Ref Daddy's bag?
Reply With Quote