Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Per rule, would you be technically justified in calling a violation on A1 for falling OOB after a shot/save? Yes.
Under the old penalty, how often was a T called for leaving to go around a screen? Pretty infrequently, but you heard occasional stories (usually involving running off the court, into the hallway, and back onto the court at a different point) of a T being assessed.
Now, how many of you have called/heard of a T being called for landing OOB after a save, after diving for a loose ball, or after a long shot? Probably never. The rule and its intent haven't changed - just the penalty has. I'm not calling any of these theoretical situations a violation, and I'd probably be laughed out of my association if I did.
|
I would not call a violation on A1.
IMO, it was never called a technical because just like the revision for a violation, most of our officials do not understand the rule nor with the old version, did an official have the guts to call a technical if a player clearly ran off the court to gain an advantage on the play.
You would sometimes hear that old gutless reply, "I wouldnt call that if I were you"... "Youre asking for trouble".