|
Per rule, would you be technically justified in calling a violation on A1 for falling OOB after a shot/save? Yes.
Under the old penalty, how often was a T called for leaving to go around a screen? Pretty infrequently, but you heard occasional stories (usually involving running off the court, into the hallway, and back onto the court at a different point) of a T being assessed.
Now, how many of you have called/heard of a T being called for landing OOB after a save, after diving for a loose ball, or after a long shot? Probably never. The rule and its intent haven't changed - just the penalty has. I'm not calling any of these theoretical situations a violation, and I'd probably be laughed out of my association if I did.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
|