| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			NCAA Rules. A80 is the left split end lined up on the line of scrimmage. A77 is the left tackle. A21 is lined up on the line of scrimmage in a two point stance between A80 and A77.  
 
In a smooth continuous movement, A21 steps back and goes in motion parallel to the line of scrimmage. He did not pause or stop once he moved into the backfield. 
 
Is this a False Start or Illegal Motion?  
 
I ruled Illegal motion since he was in a two point stance and therefore not restricted in movement (7.1.3.4.c), and because a lineman cannot go in motion (7.1.3.5.4), and because he did not stop in the backfield to establish himself a back (2.27.4.b) but my crewmates claim this is still a false start because he started out a lineman. 
 
Please chime in. 
 
dh
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	 |