Thread: Elbows swinging
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 16, 2005, 08:41am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by johnny1784
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ditttoo
Would your "call" have made the game better? Doesn't sound like it - sounds like you handled it appropriately.
I'm confused. What does ignoring a violation have to do with making the game better?

Do you really apply that criteria to all violations- traveling, out-of-bounds, palming, 10 seconds, over and back, kicked ball, etc.?
I do understand why an official can not make the right call.

Did the player swing their elbows excessively? If so, call the violation immediately but if the player makes contact with an opponent then call the technical.
If a player makes contact with an elbow to an opponent during a live ball, the choice of calls that you have are:
1) player control foul
2) intentional personal foul
3) flagrant personal foul

What you can't call is a technical foul of any kind. Technical fouls are non-contact fouls during a live ball or contact fouls during a dead ball, as per rule 4-19-5.
Also if that player DOESN'T have the ball you could call
4) a common foul

What JR is telling you is straight from pages 68-69 of the 2002-03 Rules Book.

Just remember that if contact is made and the ball is live, you CANNOT CALL A TECHNICAL FOUL.
Reply With Quote