Thread: Question
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2005, 10:27pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by ATXCoach
Ref Daddy,

#1 Let's assume s/he missed a layup and momentum carried out of bounds and ball get batted toward her/him, what to do to reestablish?

#2 So if a dribbler is going to charge and tries to avoid a foul, s/he cannot pass and run out of bounds to avoid the foul.

On the POI, what constiutes "unauthorized"? This rules been around a while hasn't it? How was it being abused so much that it became a POI?
#1 He has to be inbounds and not touching OOB.

#2 No. If the dribbler steps OOB while dribbling the ball, even if he is not touching the ball, it's still a violtaion. If the ball gets away, it would be an interrupted dribble and it wouldn't be an OOB violation for touching OOB. But if it was obvious to me that he went OOB to avoid the charge, then he violated by intentionally going OOB.

POI is point of interruption.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote