View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2005, 01:07pm
grantsrc grantsrc is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 618
Send a message via MSN to grantsrc
A play during last Monday night's game got me thinking about this concept and its application in Fed and NCAA ball. I've never really fully understood the goal line extended concept. I think the rules for the NFL are quite different from Fed or NCAA and that could be one reason for my confusion.

Here is a play that might help start the discussion:
2nd and Goal from B's 5 yardline. A11 bootlegs to the right side and dives from B's 2 yardline towards the pylon. A11 lands out of bound beyond the goaline and the ball never passed inside the pylon. While diving, the ball passed the sidelines at the 1/2 yardline. No part of A11 contacted out of bounds until he landed. Ruling?

Check out my football officials resource page at
If you have a file you would like me to add, email me and I will get it posted.
Reply With Quote