Thread: Sell this one!
View Single Post
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2005, 11:18am
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Just because he said .6 was on there at the whistle does not mean that an official was looking at the clock at that whistle. Any look after the whistle means whatever time was on the clock can be put back on.
And what was the exact time on the clock then after the official looked if he wasn't looking at the clock when he blew his whistle with 0.6 seconds left? Where can I find that information? Don't you need to have that exact information to put any time at all back on the clock?

There sureasheck can't still be O.6 seconds on the clock after he looks, no matter what. That look has to take some time- and if you don't know exactly how much time that look took, you can't put any "looking" time back on the clock.

"Look took"?

It's getting late and I'm tired, so this is my final attempt to knock a hole in that brick wall known as JR.

In Nevada's play we know by description that .6 seconds was on the clock when the whistle occurred, correct?

We also know that by rule lag time is interpreted as the interval between whistle and look at the clock if the official is not looking at the clock at the time of the whistle, correct?

What we don't know is were the officials in this play looking at the clock during the whistle, if they looked after the whistle, heck they might not have looked at all and Nevada just pulled the .6 out of his rear end, correct?

Now, for the sake of argument, let's say they were not looking at the clock at the whistle, but glanced right after and .3 seconds were on the clock and then it ran off.

Game over or A's ball with .3 on the clock?
A's ball with .3 on the clock.

But....if you don't have exact knowledge that .3 is the correct time when you looked, or what the exact time showing on the clock is after you look at it as is the case of the play we're discussing, you can't put any time back on the clock.

That's my point- and the rules. You can put .3 seconds back on the clock if you know that .3 seconds was on the clock when you looked at it. If you don't know what the actual time was on the clock though because you didn't see anything before the clock hit 00.0, then you can't put any time back on. The rules sez that. You're trying to justify your original argument by using circumstances that aren't relevant or pertinent.
That is just it, in the play in question, we don't know one way or the other if the official had definite knowledge or not, because Nevada left that out.

I've been saying all along, that the play as described could be game over or X amount of time going back on the clock. [/B]
Unbelievable.

Complete waste of time. [/B][/QUOTE]

Here are my 2nd and 3rd posts in this thread, I've been saying all along that this play, depending on when the official looked at the clock, could go under either case play.

#2 COMMENT: Timing mistakes which may be corrected are limited to those which result from the timer's neglect to stop or start the clock as specified by the rules. The rules do not permit the referee to correct situations resulting in normal reaction time of the timer which results in a “lag” in stopping the clock. By interpretation, “lag or reaction” time is limited to one second when the official's signal is heard and/or seen clearly. One second or the “reaction” time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock.

Like I said whistle with look together 1 second may run off. Whistle THEN look, put the time back that was on at the look.

Nevada never stated specifically when the official looked to see .6, so both options may be in play.



#3 Where in the play given were the words,"The official was looking at the clock when they whistled the timeout and the clock read.6?

By rule, if the whistle blew at.7 and the official looked at the clock at .6 and the clock ran out, .6 is put back on the clock.

The interval of whistle to look is judged lag time and it does not matter if it is 1 second or 1 tenth.

As I stated before, Nevada's play can be game over or team A's ball with .6 left, it all depends on when the official saw the clock.

I agree, it's been a complete waste of MY TIME, especially since you agreed to my whistle at .6 look at .3 scenario.
Reply With Quote