Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Daryl H. Long
BlindZebra,
Stick to your guns. We had this discussion last year and I took the brunt of people not believing what I said when I wrote exactly as you did.
Bottom line is that the answer given by NF in Case book play 5.10.1Sit D(b) is flat out WRONG.
|
Yes, Daryl, the NFHS Case Book is wrong and Daryl H. Long and BlindZebra are right.
Lah me. 
Un-freaking-believable.
|
I'm not saying that this case play is incorrect, because it falls under the official seeing the clock as the whistle blows.
The thing is, just what percentage of all timing errors actually have an official seeing the exact time as the whistle blows?
I'd wager that the vast majority do not, most have the official looking after the whistle, and therefore lag time occurs with this look and time is corrected to the time the official saw on the clock at that look.
Further this lag time issue, probably gets misinterpreted by officials out there because many read into the rules and think they need to witness more than a second come off the clock before they can fix it.
All this aside does not change the fact that Nevada did not give us this critical piece of the puzzle in his play. Just because he said .6 was on there at the whistle does not mean that an official was looking at the clock at that whistle. Any look after the whistle means whatever time was on the clock can be put back on.