Thread: Sell this one!
View Single Post
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2005, 11:49pm
Daryl H. Long Daryl H. Long is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref in PA
I am with JR on this one. The only time in NFHS you can put time back on the clock is when you have definite knowledge more than one second ran off the clock.

While BZ correctly quotes 5.10.1 Sit B, 5.10.1 Sit D is the specific play described and has a different interpretation. In case B of Sit D, the ref blows the whistle, looks at the clock and it says 5 seconds. The clock operator stops the clock at 4 seconds. The Case book says no timing mistake was made because of the one second lag time. The ref saw 5, but yet it was left at 4. The Fed is telling us that is ok. In the case where there is .6, that is where your definite knowledge begins. If more than a second runs off, then you can correct. Unfortunately, you don't have more than one second. Horn blows, game over. You can't correct.

I believe the case play and interpretation before I believe an ambiguously worded note in a completely different case.

Ambiguous? How can that be from the "GODs" from the NF?
How can you trust the answer to 5.10.1SitD(b) to be the absolute gospel truth just because it came from the Gods at NF then you diss the Gods at NF by making the bold statement that their explanation of the criteria the officials MUST USE to determine lag time is an "AMBIGUOUSLY WORDED NOTE"?

I believe the NF makes mistakes in their printed material and will call them on it when I see it. If you don't belive the NF makes mistakes then read 3.4.15 Situation A on page 3 of the 05-06 NF Case Book. The ruling is WRONG. The correct ruling is A1 is a PLAYER and he alone gets the T. his status as a player does not change just because it is halftime.

[Edited by Daryl H. Long on Dec 14th, 2005 at 11:55 PM]
Reply With Quote