Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
|
That case play says the official was looking at the clock when they blew the whistle, which is the point of my contention with JR about this.
That info is missing from Nevada's play. If The official sees the clock at the whistle and it goes from .6 to zero, game over. However, if the whistle blows and THEN the official looks, 1 second lag time is not a factor because the interval from whistle to look is interpreted as 1 second lag time, and .6 is put back.
|
Care to explain how you can do that when there was 0.006 on the clock when the official blew his whistle, as per the very first post on this thread? That info wasn't missing at all.
From the first post- "She crosses the division line with 0.6 seconds on the clock and the coach immediately asks for a time-out. Since the official was looking for the request, he blows the whistle right away". Iow, the whistle was blown with 0.6 seconds on the clock. I don't care if the official was looking at the clock or not when he blew the whistle either with 0.6 seconds left.
1) If the official was looking at the clock, the timer is allowed 1 second lag time as per case book play 5.10.1SitD(b).
2) If the official isn't looking at the clock, then as per your cite-5.10.1SitA-COMMENT- "One second or the 'reaction' time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock." Take 1 second reaction time away from 0.6 of a second on the clock when the whistle blew and what do you have? No time on the clock! That one second "reaction" time to look at the clock means that the clock runs out in this case also.
|
That means one second or whatever the reaction time is, not a literal 1 second, and you know it.
The official needs definite knowledge of 1 second lag time for us to allow a full second.
It still comes down to this:
Official looking at clock at whistle, lag time up to 1 second.
Official not looking, lag time is the interval between whistle and look.
Stop spinning it JR.
|
Then how much EXACT time are you gonna put back on the clock? You've just blow the whistle with 0.6 seconds on the clock. You then have to take some time to look at the clock. How much time EXACTLY are you taking to make that look? How much time is showing EXACTLY on the clock after you've made that look?
Don't give me that doo-doo about "spinning" either, BZ. You the one that's trying to say that it takes ZERO time to make a call with 0.6 seconds the clock, then look at the clock and still see 0.6 seconds on the clock. [/B]
|
Once again I'm talking about this rule in general.
You are arguing that it is one second regardless, and it is not.
If the whistle went off with 1.6, 1.0, or .8 on the clock and the official then looked and saw .6 and it ran out, .6 is put back on.
Get it now?
The game could be over or there could be .6 on the clock.
[/B][/QUOTE]Yup, I get it. You're still trying to spin your mistake. Your examples above aren't applicable in any way to this situation.
I'm talking about the rules relating to this play
specifically, not generally. In this particular play, the whistle was blown with 0.6 of a second on the clock. The official
then looked at the clock. You're trying to say that there's still 0.6 of a second on the clock
after the official has taken the time to take that look. Iow, there was
NO time at all taken by the official to make that look. That just ain't gonna fly, BZ. You can't look at the speed of light. I'm
not arguing that the look is a full one second regardless. I'm arguing that it actually takes
some time to take that look, and that you don't know
exactly how much time that the look actually took, and if you don't know the
exact time that the look took, then you can't put
any time back up on the clock.
In the examples you gave above, there was time used by the official to take a look at the clock. In the situation you're arguing about, you're trying to say that there was NO time used. Apples and oranges.
If the official
was looking directly at the clock when he blew the whistle with 0.6 of a second showing on the clock, he also can't put any time back on the clock either because of legal allowable lag time.
Either way, the game is over.
Get it now?