Thread: Technical Foul
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 10, 2005, 09:30am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes

A SINGLE technical foul? I can only think of one situation. Technical foul at the end of a period.
Why would that throw-in go under the basket??
There wouldn't be a throw-in for a T at all in some situations at the end of a quarter.

I believe he's referring to a T that comes after the horn but before the period is over-- say, A1 is shooting 1/1 or 2 after being fouled while time was expiring. During one of the FT's, somebody on B gets a T. You shoot the FT's for the T as part of that quarter also, but team A doesn't get the throw-in for the T to start the next quarter. The throw-in for the next quarter is the regular AP progression.

Make sense?
Yea, but that still wouldn't make the next throw-in under someone's basket.
True, but you could start an extra period with a jump ball, if the T occurred after the expiration of time in the 4th quarter.
So the answer to the original question:
"Are there any situations where the ball will not be inbounded at the division line after a technical foul?"
is yes.
Reply With Quote