A similar play I had...
R1 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd. BR bunts down the first base line. F3 fields and overthrows F2 as R1 scores while not sliding.
Ball is at fence, on the first base line extended. R2 rounds 3B and heads for home. R1, having scores, casually continues running while circling to her right, going toward her dugout on the 3B side. Just as F2 fields the ball and turns to toss it to F1 covering the plate, R1 runs between them and gets hit by the ball.
I think it was completely UNintentional on R1's part, but I still think it was proper that I ruled interference on R1 and R2 out. I would do the same if a batter was not paying attention and interferred.
|