View Single Post
  #82 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 11:31pm
ManInBlue ManInBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 469
Quote:
Originally posted by largeone59
Oddly enough, i found a similar play on a rules quiz (http://www.macroweb.com/ibrules/bqpg0105.htm).

Here's the play (OBR):


Runner on 2nd base with two outs. Batter hits one over the fence. As R2 rounds third he trips on the base and falls down. The third base coach helps him up and he continues home. What's the call?

Answer: Nobody is out and both runs count.

Reference: Rules 5.02, 7.05(a)

Explanation: As long as all runners legally touch the bases while advancing to home, they can touch anybody they wish. The batter or any of the runners could be carried around the bases on the shoulders of his teammates as long as he comes down and touches each base as he reaches it.
Question written by: Jim Booth, visit Jim's Umpire's Corner.



Is this accurate?
I've seen this, too. Don't recall reading the explanation, though. I guess as long as the preceding runner isn't passed, he could be carried. That's a bit of a stretch for a simple, "the ball was dead" explanation, which is the explanation given here.
Reply With Quote