Thread: Lag Time
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 30, 2005, 08:21pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
You were incorrect in putting the 1 second back on the clock. If the clock read 1.0 when you blew your whistle, the timer gets 1 second reaction the time to stop the clock. THe game was over.
That is not correct if you whistle THEN look at the clock.

5.10.1 SITUATION B: A1 travels. Immediately after the official sounds the whistle and signals the clock to stop, he/she glances at the clock and notices there are three seconds remaining in the quarter. However, the timer does not stop the clock and time expires. RULING: The referee will direct that three seconds be put back on the clock since he/she had definite knowledge of the amount of time involved.

COMMENT: Timing mistakes which may be corrected are limited to those which result from the timer's neglect to stop or start the clock as specified by the rules. The rules do not permit the referee to correct situations resulting in normal reaction time of the timer which results in a “lag” in stopping the clock. By interpretation, “lag or reaction” time is limited to one second when the official's signal is heard and/or seen clearly. One second or the “reaction” time is interpreted to have elapsed from the time the signal was made until the official glanced at the clock. The additional three seconds which subsequently ran off the clock is considered a timing mistake.

If the official is looking at the clock at the whistle the timer is allowed the second.

If there is a whistle and then a look, you can correct it to the time that was on the clock, because lag time was the interval between whistle and look.
There's conflicting information given in johnnyrao's initial post:

He said:
1) "I blew the whistle and looked at the clock."
2) "I know that when I saw the TO sign, the clock was at 1.0"

You need definite info on which one it actually was before you can answer this one.
I was basing it on BBR's post, because it is not correct.

What the clock says when you blew the whistle may or may not determine what lag time is allowed, depending on when the official looked at the clock.

So to throw a blanket 1 second out there is incorrect.

[Edited by blindzebra on Nov 30th, 2005 at 08:23 PM]
Reply With Quote