I have to agree with SDS and BU56. I believe R2 is going to be awarded home on the OBS, so I'm ignoring the INT by the coach.
Rules state the award is at least one base. It doesn't say it is only one base.
If this hit is into shallow left, then he's probably getting held up at third, not picked up and pushed home. He was obstructed, fell and still got home (or had the chance to get there). This tells me he should get the 2 base award. Ignore the INT by the coach.
We have to remember that in this case we award those bases we think he would have gotten. A little bit of the God rule in action.
JMO -
Thanks, SDS for mentioning this board again.
|