Quote:
Originally posted by largeone59
well i gotta say, this has to be one of the toughest "what if's" i've ever read on the internet.
I just think that the coach's interference is an automatic out- no matter if the runner was obstructed. Like bob said, you are still required to run the bases properly even if you are awarded bases.
|
I can't wait for Carl's result to come out, but I don't think it's that hard. Runner is awarded 3rd, or home if you feel benevolent, but the ball is live and he still has to run the bases legally. If we award him home, and he leaps over a standing catcher at home to reach the plate he is out, see case book plays referenced earlier. If he slides into the catcher illegally he should also be out, same reason. If his coach helps him to his feet... well you can see where I'm going. I think the coach's help is an out if it is a dead ball, the runner is awarded home, and the help in no way negates a failure to run the bases legally (I'm still on the fence on grabbing him and making him go back to tag a missed base).
Let me pose, along with this issue, a mechanics question. I know how I have always done it, and how I was taught and now I am looking in my different references to see if I'm doing it right. On a play like this (runner rounding 3B who is obstructed before reaching 3b), I have always signaled the obstruction and then made a mental note of the degree to which the obstruction hindered the runner and in my mind concluded that if he is thrown out on a close play at the plate he will be awarded home, but if it is not close he is out, or if the hindrance was not that severe then the award is 3B.
I recall a play in the Oakland Boston series in 2003 when a runner was called out between 3b and home after an obstruction call as he was advancing to 3b. The runner stopped running on his way to home, apparently thinking he was going to be awarded home, and I think if he had been called out on a close play a case could be made for awarding home, but since he stopped running he removed his chance for that ruling.
So my question, do you decide immediately what the award is, or let the play happen before you decide. Or, do you do like I do, decide to award if the play is close, but not if it is not (or if he stops running)?