
Sun Nov 04, 2001, 11:56am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
My point, however, was that if you cannot have a live ball contact foul be a technical foul, how does that reconcile with rule 10-3-10 that says that if a player is charged with fighting, it is a technical foul? Fighting is (OK, just to cover all the bases let's say "can be" instead of "is", but the question doesn't change) contact during a live ball.
|
"Fighting" also includes dead ball periods and DOES NOT require contact -- see 4-18.
So, fighting, with contact, during a dead ball is covered under 10-3-9.
Fighting without contact, during a dead or live ball, is covered under 10-3-10.
Fighting, with contact, during a live ball, is covered under 10-6.
|
Which would mean that the statement that I made earlier would be true. A live ball contact foul will not result in a technical foul.
[Edited by BktBallRef on Nov 5th, 2001 at 11:16 AM]
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott
"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
|