22. A-1 is holding the ball in the frontcourt & closely guarded by B-1. As the official count is at 2, A-2 takes & holds a position between A-1 and B-1. Official stops the count. Correct?
38. A-1 is holding the ball in the frontcourt & closely guarded by B-1. As the official's count is at 2, A-2 slides or passes between A-1 and A-2. Official stops the count. Correct?
Well, obviously, the only difference is "takes & holds a position" versus " slides or passes between". We have been back and forth, and cannot figure out what the rules say. There does not seem to be a casebook play like this. My inclination is to say the count should continue, because otherwise, the offensive team can always stop the count. But, if we assume that IAABO is not simply giving the same question twice, then the official in 22 is correct and 38 is not correct. But I still cannot cite a "Why". Help? Comments?
__________________
IAABO ref CT
|