Quote:
Originally posted by BigToe
I tell him it is not over and back because once the ball got knocked away, there is no team control. . .
My partner says that because the ball hit A1's foot, it is still team A possession. . .
|
Well, you and your partner were both wrong in these assertions. The fact that the ball was batted away by a defensive player makes no difference to team control (in FED or NCAA rules). Once a team has control, that control continues until a try is released or until the other team gains control or until the ball becomes dead. Those are the only ways to lose team control.
Your partner is wrong b/c the ball hitting A1's foot makes no difference to team control either. If team control really
had been lost, then touching A1's foot would not re-establish team control. To establish team control, a player on that team must establish player control. And in HS, there's only 2 ways to do that: you must be holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds.
Just wanted to clarify those points. They're extremely important this year, since we must always know whether there's team control in order to properly administer team control fouls.