Quote:
Originally posted by Rich Ives
Quote:
Originally posted by jicecone
Wait a minute here.
I'm reading Section 93 pg 76 of BRD2005. "OFF INTERP 73-93: RUMBLE: If a batter throws his bat toward a pitch, that constitutes a carelessly thrown bat with all attendant penalties. (News #19,3/87)" fed ruling
Taking that into consideration, because I'm not trying to determine the batters intent, I don't see catchers interference here, for B.
But Im open to being convinced otherwise.
|
That's a FED ruling. It's legal to throw the bat at a pitch in OBR.
|
Rich, are you saying that because the rules do not define this as illegal, it is therefore legal.
I know the batter may not have intented to hit the catchers glove, but I also know he did by not hanging on to the bat, and to boot I now have to give options to the offense and penalize the defense for not being allowed to catch a pitch.
Convince me, better than you have, Rich