
Sat Nov 12, 2005, 02:31pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by stevesmith
I agree with Theisey. We had this play earlier this year. Since the foul occurs in the endzone, the enforcement spot is the goal line so the safety is automatic whether the penalty is accepted or not.
What makes this play interesting is if the kick occurs in the field of play, then Team B can accept the result of the play (safety), or take the penalty which is 15 yards and includes a loss of down. So if it was 4th down and B accepts the penalty, it will B's ball after the 15 yard (or half the distance) enforcement.
|
Illegal kicking does not include a loss-of-down under NF rules. I am not sure about NCAA.
|