further evidence
I just found this for you too, Jeff. It is the same play as 6.4.3, but here the NFHS says that it is a double violation. I truly believe that they just made a terminology mistake in the casebook.
2002-03 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS
SITUATION 15: On a final free-throw attempt by A1, B1 commits a lane violation. A1's free throw misses the ring and flange. RULING: Double violation, unless the officials deem B1's act to be disconcerting to the shooter. If this was the last of multiple free throws, play will be resumed by the alternating-possession procedure. (9-1-3, 9-1-5, 9-1-9 Penalty 3)
|