Thread: T or Not?
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2005, 10:49am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
NFHS Rules

4 minutes left in the 1st quarter. Coach A calls a TO. Subs report during the TO. Bench informs us that one of the subs doesn't have a number in the book. We inform the coach. Sure enough, kid had changed his jersey number without coach knowing, so book had got the wrong number. We advise coach that it'll be a T to get the kid in the game. Coach decides to bench the player at this time and sends in a sub for him.

Whaddya got?
If the sub only reported, it's not a T. If the sub was beckoned onto the court by an official after reporting, he then becomes a player and it does merit a "T".

"Reporting" and "being beckoned" are two completely different things by rule. There is no mention of the substitute being beckoned in the original post above. By strict reading of your post above, I agree with BktBallRef's original answer - no T if the sub only reported.
Reply With Quote