Thread: Dead Ball Foul
View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 10, 2005, 05:51am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally posted by Illini_Ref
Please help with the ruling on the following two situations.

1. Team A has the ball 4th and 10. A1 runs for a nine yard gain and then steps out of bounds where he is hit. A flag is thrown for a personal foul. This is a dead ball foul. Should Team B get the ball and then have the penalty assessed. It seems that since the foul occured AFTER the down, that Team B should get the ball.

2. Team A has the ball 4th and 10. A1 runs for a five yard gain and is tackled. The R signals first down for B. B3 is then flagged for a dead ball foul. Does A get a first down now?

These two situations seem technically alike, but the rulings probably will be different. I am confused.
1. Dead ball foul. The down ended with A stepping OB. B 1D/10, 15y back.

2. Ditto... play was over, B gets the ball, then assess the penalty.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote