Quote:
Originally posted by Mountaineer
ASA - runners end up on 2nd and 3rd. They see the BR as having legally attained 2nd and you cannot take that away from her. That would then force R1 to move to 3rd.
|
Sorry, Larry, but I completely disagree.
2005 ASA Casebook.
PLAY 8.6-6
With R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, R1 is caught between 3B and home. As R1 is attempting to regain 3B, F5 obstructs R1 and then tags them out. R2 was standing on 3B at the time of the obstruction.
RULING:
The umpire should call "dead ball" and rule obstruction. R1 should be awarded 3B, R2 is returned to 2B (8-5B)